Perfect Day

Here’s a piece I wrote that was published a couple of years ago in Moose Jaw Express.
 In an often hectic world we can too often forget to take the time to enjoy the simple things of life. Recently our family went camping together; something that is far too rare for us. We nestled our small tents among the trees, surrounded by the huge RV’s of other campers, but judging by the laughter and chatter coming from our fireside I doubt that those with higher end accommodations were having any more fun than we were. There’s nothing wrong of course with enjoying the frills  if you can, but it is always good to be reminded that it really doesn’t cost much money to have fun with your family and perhaps even once in awhile…enjoy a perfect day.

perfect day pic

Early morning pitter-patter of raindrops on tent roof,
distant low rumbling thunder, lulls me back to sleep
Sizzling bacon in cast iron pan over open fire,
even the burnt bits taste great
Sun warming my face as I lackadaisically  float on an inner tube
Thinking about nothing, not a care in the world,
at least not in this moment…on this perfect day
Gritty sand between my toes,
cold lake water washing away my footprints
 Building sand castles with a two-year old
enjoying the simple things of life
Walking hand in hand down solitary path
 him and I, just happy to be together
Late night by crackling campfire,
 laughter, talking, roasting marshmallows
Embers rise into the starry night sky and disappear
but not before I thank God…for this perfect day

-Gloria Lynn Guest- MJ Express 2011 – Thanks for stopping by for a moment 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry, Uncategorized

Leave a comment